AIA Names Winners of 2020 Healthcare Design Awards

Washington, DC, October 5, 2020-The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) is recognizing eight projects with its 2020 Healthcare Design Awards.

The awards recognize cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems while also being functional and sustainable. Recipients can include healthcare building design, healthcare planning and healthcare design-oriented research. This year’s projects were awarded by a seven-person jury in the following categories.

Category A, Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

Hampton County Health Clinic, Varnville, South Carolina | Liollio Architecture

Mountain Park Health Center Tempe, Tempe, Arizona | SMITHGROUP

Mount Sinai Kyabirwa Ambulatory Surgical Facility, Kyabirwa, Jinja, Uganda | Kliment Halsband Architects

Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, Chicago | HDR | Gensler in association with Clive Wilkinson Architects

Warren Clinic, Tulsa, Oklahoma | CallisonRTKL

Category B, Built: More than $25 million (construction cost)

Duke Student Wellness Center, Durham, North Carolina | Duda|Paine Architects

MSK Nassau, Uniondale, New York | EwingCole

Category F, Master planning urban design for healthcare settings

Saving Main Street: Haxtun Hospital District, Haxton, Colorado | HDR

For more information on the awards, click here

Related Topics:The American Institute of Architects