AIA Names 2023 Housing Awards Winners

Washington, DC, March 13, 2023-The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing ten exceptional residential designs with its 2023 Housing Awards. 

One- and Two-Family Custom Residences

Alta Vista Residence, Austin, Texas | Alterstudio Architecture

The Rambler, Idianola, Washington | GO’C

Flex House, Sacramento, California | Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Multifamily Housing

Woodward Lofts, St. Louis, Missouri | Trivers

Canyon Drive, Los Angeles, California | Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects

Specialized Housing

Argyle Gardens, Portland, Oregon | Holst Architecture

Excellence in Affordable Housing

Sister Lillian Murphy Community, San Francisco, California | Paulette Taggart Architects with StudioVARA

Gramercy Senior Housing, Los Angeles, California | Kevin Daly Architects

MLK1101 Supportive Housing, Los Angeles, California | Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects

Mixed-Use Community Connection

The Block, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | ISA - Interface Studio Architects

AIA’s Housing Awards program, now in its 23rd year, was established to recognize the best in housing design for new construction, renovations and restorations. 

This year’s recipients were selected by a five-person jury that evaluated entries relative to the AIA Framework for Design Excellence, which represents the defining principles of excellent design in the 21st century. Specifically, the jury looked at whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs as well as addressing the natural and built contexts.

Related Topics:Interface, The American Institute of Architects