AIA Announces 2022 Healthcare Design Award Winners

Washington, DC, September 14, 2022-The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) is recognizing seven projects with its 2022 Healthcare Design Awards.

The awards recognize cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems while also being functional and sustainable. Eligible projects can include health care building design, health care planning and health care design-oriented research. This year’s projects were awarded by a six-person jury in the following categories:

Category A: Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

Rural Ortho Clinic, Cedarburg, Wisconsin, Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Category B: Built: More than $25 million (construction cost)

Center for Health & Wellbeing, Winter Park, Florida, Duda|Paine Architects

Category C: Renovations/Remodeled: Primarily built within existing hospital or clinical space or adaptive reuse of an existing building to a health are use

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, Payette

UCSF Connie Frank Transplant Center, San Francisco, NBBJ

Category D: Unbuilt: Must be commissioned for compensation by a client with the authority and intention to build

Kyabirwa Surgical Center Ward, Jinja, Uganda, GKG

Montage Health Ohana Center, Monterey, California, NBBJ

Uganda Women's and Children's Clinic, Mityana, Uganda, LS3P Go Design Inc.

Related Topics:The American Institute of Architects