17th Annual Tile of Spain Award Winners Announced

Miami, FL, December 3, 2018--Tile of Spain has announced the winners of the 17th annual Tile of Spain Awards of Architecture and Interior Design.

The winners were as follows, 

Architecture, winner--New entrance to Palma's Intermodal Station by Joan Miquel Seguí Colomar

Architecture, special mention--Laan Van Spartaan Amsterdam Student Housing by Studioninedots Amsterdam. 

Architecture, special mention--Sports hall and classrooms, Francisco de Vitoria University by Alberto Campo Baeza

Interior design, winner--House overlooking the sea by Xavier Martí and Lucía Ferrater of OAB

Interior design, special mention--Integral renovation of Casa Artium by María Fernández Torrado, Torrado Arquitectura studio 

Final degree project, winner--A positive happening by Manuel Bouzas Barcala from the Madrid School of Architecture

Final degree project, special mention--La Vall, a hallway to Barcelona byClàudia Calvet Gómez from the Barcelona School of Architecture

Final degree project, special mention--The Limit. A School of Arts and Crafts in Chinchón by Carmen Martín Hernando from the Polytechnic School at CEU San Pablo University

The panel of judges was chaired by Jorge Silvetti, an architect born in Buenos Aires who has spent most of his career in Boston where he was a founding partner of Machado and Silvetti Associates. The panel of judges also included Elías Torres (José Antonio Martínez Lapeña & Elías Torres Tur Architects Studio), Ricardo Carvalho (RCJV Architects), FAD Award winner Jordi Garcés, Belén Moneo (Moneo Brock Studio), designer Mario Ruiz, and Ramón Monfort, a founding member of the Centre of Ceramic Design.