Winners of 2017 Vision Design Awards Announced

Chattanooga, TN, April 5, 2017 – Floor Focus magazine is honored to announce the winners of the eighth annual Vision Design Awards. Architecture and design firms from across North America submitted innovative projects that were judged primarily on the integration of the floor with the overall space design. 

The projects were entered into five commercial building categories: corporate, education, healthcare, retail and hospitality. This year’s winners are

Grand Prize Winner: Corporate

Project: Nixon Peabody, Los Angeles, California

Design Firm: Rottet Studio, Houston, Texas

Corporate Winner

Project: Avvo, Seattle, Washington

Design Firm: JPC Architects, Bellevue, Washington

Education Winner

Project: Canadian Valley Technology Center Master Plan, El Reno, Oklahoma

Design Firm: MA + Architecture, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Hospitality/Retail Winner

Project: Thompson Lobby Bar, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Design Firm: II By IV Design, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Healthcare Winner

Project: Stanford Children’s Health Specialty Services, Sunnyvale, California

Design Firm: HOK, San Francisco, California

Healthcare Honorable Mention

Project: Baystate Children’s Hospital Playdeck, Springfield, Massachusetts

Design Firm: Steffian Bradley Architects, Boston, Massachusetts

Education Honorable Mention

Project: Endicott College, Standish Hall, Beverly, Massachusetts

Design Firm: Bergmeyer, Boston, Massachusetts

Hospitality/Retail Honorable Mention

Project: The Driskill Hotel, Austin, Texas

Design Firm: Rottet Studio, Houston, Texas

Corporate Honorable Mention

Project: VoxPro, Folsom, California

Design Firm: HDL Design Architects, Roseville, California, with Geraldine Coughlan Architects, Enniskeane, Co. Cork, Ireland

Judges for this year’s contest were Shashi Caan, The Collective; Paul Lewandowski, Lavallee Brensinger Architects; and Stefanie Comeau, CBT Architects.

Bentley Mills, Crossville, Johnsonite and Floor Focus sponsored the contest. All product and firm names are stripped from the entries prior to judging so that the jurors vote strictly based on the merit of the design. Floor Focus applauds these sponsors in their support of the concept of blind judging, ensuring that the contest awards and celebrates design for design’s sake. 

Entries for next year’s awards will be accepted beginning January 2018. 

Related Topics:Rottet Studio, Crossville