Winners of 2020 Vision Design Awards Announced

Chattanooga, TN, April 9, 2020-Floor Focus magazine is honored to announce the winners of the eleventh annual Vision Design Awards. Architecture and design firms from across North America submitted innovative projects that were judged primarily on the integration of the floor with the overall space design.

Floor Focus will host a celebration honoring the winners September 11 and 12 in Savannah, Georgia, which will include the designers, jury members and representatives of the sponsor companies.

The projects were entered into commercial building categories: Corporate, Education, Hospitality/Retail and Healthcare. This year’s winners are

Grand Prize Winner: Corporate

Design Firm: Huntsman Architectural Group, New York

Project: Tarkett Atelier, New York

Corporate Winner

Design firm: Tecton Architects, Hartford, Connecticut

Project: Otis Elevator, Bloomfield, Connecticut

Corporate Honorable Mention

Design firm: RA-DA, West Hollywood, California

Project: DocMagic, Torrance, California

Education Winner

Design firm: TEF Design, San Francisco

Project: Live Oak School, San Francisco

Education Honorable Mention

Design firm: LS3P, Charleston, South Carolina 

Project: Wando Mount Pleasant Library, Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

Hospitality/Retail Winner

Design firm: Barbour Spangle Design, High Point, North Carolina 

Project: Furnitureland South Contract Showroom, Jamestown, North Carolina

Hospitality/Retail Honorable Mention

Design firm: Rottet Studio, Houston, Texas

Project: Conrad, Washington, DC

Healthcare Winner

Design firm: Tecton Architects, Hartford Connecticut

Project: Connecticut Children’s Infusion Center, Farmington, Connecticut

Healthcare Honorable Mention

Design firm: AECOM, Arlington, Virginia

Project: Stony Brook University Medical and Research Training building, Stony Brook, New York

Bentley Mills, Crossville, HPS Schönox and Tarkett sponsored the contest. All product and firm names are stripped from the entries prior to judging so that the jurors vote strictly based on the merit of the design. Floor Focus applauds these sponsors in their support of the concept of blind judging, ensuring that the contest awards and celebrates design for design’s sake.

Judges for this year’s contest were Shashi Caan of the Shashi Caan Collective; Lisa Pinyan of LS3P Associates; and Margo Jones of M. Jones Associates.

Entries for next year’s awards will be accepted beginning January 2021. 

Related Topics:Crossville, Rottet Studio, Tarkett