National Council of Textile Organizations Announces Officers for 2020

Washington, DC, June 17, 2020-The National Council of Textile Organizations (NCTO), representing the full spectrum of U.S. textiles from fiber through finished sewn products, held its officer elections for fiscal year 2020.

In addition to the appointment of a new chairman and vice chairman, NCTO elected chairs for each of its four councils. NCTO is comprised of four councils to ensure a broad representation of the industry supply chain. Each council has an allotted number of members who are elected to the association’s board of directors, in addition to the executive committee.

Elected as NCTO chairman and vice chairman for 2020 are David Roberts, CEO of Cap Yarns and David Poston, president of Palmetto Synthetics, respectively.

Elected to the NCTO board of directors during the various council meetings are the following:

Fiber Council-Lowell Bivens of PHP Fibers; John Freeman of Nan Ya Plastics America; Chuck Hall of William Barnet & Son; Rich Lemerise of The LYCRA Company; Alejandro Sanchez of DAK Americas; and Chip Stein of Stein Fibers

Yarn Council-Jim Booterbaugh of National Spinning Co.; Tom Caudle of Unifi; Charles Heilig of Parkdale Mills; Peter Iliopoulos of Gildan; Marty Moran of Buhler Quality Yarns Corporation; and Allen Smith of American & Efird

Fabric and Home Furnishings Council-Norman Chapman of Inman Mills; Kathie Leonard of Auburn Manufacturing; Chad McAllister of Milliken & Company; Leib Oehmig of Glen Raven, Inc.; Dirk Pieper of Sage Automotive Interiors; and Mike Shelton of Valdese Weavers

Industry Support Council-Cyril Guerin of Picanol; Ian Mills of Fi-Tech; and Gary Romanstine of Marzoli.

Elected by their respective councils to serve on the executive committee are,

Lowell Bivens of PHP Fibers; John Freeman of Nan Ya; Tom Caudle of Unifi; Peter Iliopoulos of Gildan; Norman Chapman of Inman Mills; Leib Oehmig of Glen Raven Inc.; and Ian Mills of Fi-Tech

Elected to chair the councils are,

Fiber Council: David Poston of Palmetto Synthetics

Yarn Council: Marty Moran of Buhler Quality Yarns Corporation 

Fabric and Home Furnishings Council: Leib Oehmig of Glen Raven, Inc.

Industry Support Council: Ian Mills of Fi-Tech