CRI Holds Annual Meeting, Shaw's Wyatt Rollins Wins Smrekar Award

Dalton, GA, November 10, 2022-The Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI) hosted its annual membership meeting on November 9 to announce new members to the board of directors and present the Joseph J. Smrekar Memorial Award for service to the carpet industry.

For 2023, Tom Pendley, president of the commercial business unit for Mannington, is chairman; Curt Hutchins, president of residential carpet for Mohawk and who joined the CRI board last year, is vice chairman; Becky Boley, corporate controller for Shaw, is treasurer. Additional board members are Chip Howalt, president of Textile Rubber; Franco Rossi, president of Aquafil; Marc Ammen, CEO of Universal Fibers; Jim McCallum, president of Milliken; Robert Shaw, CEO of Engineered Floors; Tim Baucom, CEO of Shaw, who joined the board last year; Richard French,vice president of global sales and marketing for Bentley Mills; Eric Daliere, president of Tarkett Sports; Daniel Frierson, chairman and CEO of Dixie Group. 

Joe Yarbroughis president of CRI.

The annual meeting for the carpet industry trade association also serves as an opportunity to update the public and industry about new developments and activities from the prior year at the institute.

Pendley introduced the 2023 roster for the CRI Board of directors and policy committee that oversee CRI.

McCallum announced Wyatt Rollins of Shaw Industries as the recipient of the Joseph J. Smrekar Memorial Award for his work on the EPR/CARE panel for CRI. The award was established by Milliken & Company in 1998 to honor the late Dr. Joe Smrekar who volunteered on many CRI committees. CRI staff members elect the recipient of the annual award.

Yarbrough gave a report on CRI and industry activities from the past year. He outlined the work done in CRI’s government relations and technical fields.

Related Topics:Carpet and Rug Institute, Mannington Mills, Tarkett, Engineered Floors, LLC, Shaw Industries Group, Inc., Mohawk Industries