AIA Announces Winners of 2019 Healthcare Design Awards

Washington, DC, July 29, 2019-The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) is recognizing five projects with its 2019 Healthcare Design Awards.

The awards recognize cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems, while also being functional and sustainable. Recipients can include healthcare building design, healthcare planning and healthcare design-oriented research. This year’s projects were awarded by a seven-member jury in the following categories.

Category A

Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

* The GHESKIO Tuberculosis Hospital, Port-au-Prince, Haiti, MASS Design Group

* Westlake Dermatology Concrete and Glass Pavilion, Marble Falls, Texas, Matt Fajkus Architecture

Category B

Built: More than $25 million (construction cost)

* Casey House, Toronto, Canada, Hariri Pontarini Architects

* The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Palo Alto (VAPA) Polytrauma and Blind Rehabilitation Center, Palo Alto, California, SmithGroup and The Design Partnership LLP

Category C

Renovations/Remodeled: Primarily built within existing hospital or clinical space or adaptive reuse of an existing building to a healthcare use.

* Studio Dental II, San Francisco, Montalba Architects

All five projects were honored at the AIA AAH/ACHA Summer Leadership Summit in Chicago on July 27. 

Related Topics:The American Institute of Architects