AIA Announces 2021 Housing Awardwinners

Washington, DC, May 24, 2021-The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing ten exceptional residential designs with its 2021 Housing Awards. 

AIA’s Housing Awards program, now in its 21st year, was established to recognize the best in housing design for new construction, renovations and restorations. Each year projects are awarded based on four different categories: one- and two-family custom residences; one- and two-family production homes; multifamily housing; and specialized housing.

This year’s recipients were selected by a five-member jury that evaluated projects for demonstrating design excellence. Additionally, the jury evaluates whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs as well as addressing the natural and built contexts. The 2021 Housing Award recipients are

Category 1 - One- and Two-Family Custom Residences

* LeanToo, Austin, Texas | Nick Deaver

* Loom House, Bainbridge Island, Washington | Miller Hull Partnership, LLP

* Portage Bay Float Home, Seattle | Studio DIAA

* Walk-Street House, Hermosa Beach, California | ras-a studio

Category 2 - One- and two-family production homes

* Tsuga Townhomes, Seattle | Wittman Estes

Category 3 - Multifamily Housing

* Edwin M. Lee Apartments, San Francisco | Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects

* Independence Library and Apartments, Chicago | John Ronan Architects

Category 4 - Specialized Housing

* Adohi Hall, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas | Leers Weinzapfel Associates

* Bastion Community, New Orleans | Office of Jonathan Tate

* The Arroyo Affordable Housing, Santa Monica, California | KoningEizenberg Architecture

Related Topics:The American Institute of Architects