ASID Names Recipients of 2018 National Awards

Washington, DC, April 6, 2018-The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) is honored to announce the recipients of the 2018 ASID National Awards.

Each year, ASID celebrates those who advance the interior design profession and showcase the impact of design to positively change people’s lives. The National Awards represent the highest level of professional recognition bestowed by the Society on individuals and organizations. 

Designer of Distinction: Honors an ASID professional member who has established a body of superior work demonstrating creativity, excellence, and innovation. This is the premier award for personal achievement and social consciousness in the interior design field.

2018 Designer of Distinction-Ken Wilson, ASID, FAIA, LEED Fellow, design principal,                                                                                                                                                             Perkins+Will

Design for Humanity: Honors an individual or institution for contributions made to improve the human experience through environmentally friendly and health-focused interior design projects or activities that demonstrate a far-reaching impact.

2018 Design for Humanity Winner-Jane Rohde, ASID, AIA, CHID, ACHA, LEED AP BD+C, GGA-EB, principal & founder, JSR Associates, Inc.

Design Innovation: Honors an individual, institution, manufacturer, or research team for producing an innovative project, product, or body of work that makes a significant contribution to the advancement of the field of interior design.

2018 Design Innovation Winner-Paul Scialla, founder International WELL Building Institute

Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award: Pays tribute to the accomplishments of McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition and the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID) from 1941-1944. The award honors an individual, organization, manufacturer, or research team for outstanding support of the interior design profession.

2018 Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award Winner: Tamie Glass, ASID, associate professor, interior design program director, fellow of Gene Edward Mikeska Endowed Chair School of Architecture, The University of Texas at Austin              

The ASID National Award winners were selected by a panel of judges comprised of professional members and representatives from the design community. This year’s prestigious panel of judges included: Steve Clem, ASID, principal, tvsdesign, 2017 ASID Designer of Distinction winner; Denise Rush, ASID, interim dean, School of Interior Architecture, Boston Architectural College; and Mark Strauss, president emeritus, Interior Design Media.

The ASID National Award winners will be honored at Celebration-The ASID Awards Gala, on July 21, 2018, in Washington, D.C.

Related Topics:American Society of Interior Designers (ASID), The American Institute of Architects